March 19, 2018

How to Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account

The recent revelations about manipulation of social media by Cambridge Analytica and Russian troll farms has a lot of people asking how to delete their Facebook accounts. Rightfully so. Just make sure you do it properly.

If you haven't seen it already, Channel 4 in the UK has posted a covert investigation into the inner workings of Cambridge Analytica, a company that borders on the Ministry of Truth, the fictional propaganda agency in George Orwell's 1984. They also posted video of a whistleblower giving insight into how Facebook data is used against you.

The Channel 4 investigation was posted today and Cambridge Analytica is actively - probably futilely now - trying to suppress it:





Including after-hours trading, Facebook shares (FB) are down 8.25%. Clearly investors are worried about the repercussions to Facebook - particularly if there's an exodus of users. 


I don't envision anything remotely resembling abandonment. Most Facebook users are apathetic - after all, we all knew and accepted the risks of posting our every move to a website. We also all knew the risks of adding Facebook - essentially a surveillance device, according to Edward Snowden - to the one item we carry everywhere - our phones.

But wait...there's more.

Facebook of old is long gone. Facebook used to be a place students could get wild, promote secret parties, and so on without the prying eyes of mom and dad. Now, the entire family tree is creeping your profile. Looking, watching, judging.

Is it any wonder why almost 3 million US Facebook users younger than 25 deleted their accounts in 2017.

I'm old enough not to care what anyone thinks of me. But I still find Facebook tiresome. I don't care about that video you shared of some guy sliding on ice. Or the 'one like = one pray' bullshit. Facebook's news-feed is filled with click-bait from questionable sources and sponsored posts from what they've decided I'd like. Really, there are very few reasons for most of us to be on Facebook. And those few reasons are not worth volunteering to be tracked.

If you've decided to eject Facebook from your life, the first thing you must know is the difference from 'deactivating' your account and 'deleting' your account.

From Facebook itself:



Essentially, deactivating is temporary while deleting is permanent.

Use THIS LINK if you want to delete your Facebook account. If you want to download your data before deactivating your account, use THIS LINK. Remember, if you delete your account everything will be gone forever. Though, will you really care if your fake online life is replaced with something real?

No comments:

Post a Comment

Free eBook: 40 Job Interview Red Flags